Skip to content

Food in Mouth

December 1, 2009

I was starving. It snuck up on me. As I walked up the three flights of stairs to my apartment and imagined what I would eat when I got to the top, I realized tonight would be one of those nights. A night when the concept of Dinner is questionable, and eating more closely resembles a roving act of desperate fulfillment.

My best friend’s ex-girlfriend (god forgive me for dredging up her virtual presence) would sometimes refer to this as a Meal of Foods. Now, she more typically used the term for a meal composed of the remains of your refrigerator, but I think it applies to any situation where the state of your plate is random at best, but more likely profoundly embarrassing.

I know I can’t be alone in these strange excursions of hunger, so let me be the first to expose myself by attempting to recreate tonight’s Meal of Foods.

While heating (in the microwave! Desperation!) a few spoonfuls of leftover liquid from my beef stew that I’ve decided is soup and chopping some sort of asian cabbage and strips of red onion, pop a couple of olives. While steaming the cabbage and red onion, measure 4oz of roast beef just purchased at Bierkraft and 1.5oz avocado (because I still habitually weight and measure my protein and fat. Or at least the protein and fat that does not go directly from fridge to mouth). While eating the beef stew soup, dress my steamed greens and onion with coconut aminos (think soy sauce only from coconut) and dig around in the fridge for possible roast beef condiment. Decide on some crystallized, but still good horseradish and my roommate’s chili mustard. Dab a spoonful of each on the side of my plate – bowl, actually – and add some raw kimchi to aid digestion. Into the mouth a few scoops of babaganouj, a short pour of red wine and sit down at the table. Goddamnit, it’s dinner.

As I look at my plate, I realize it’s fairly unpresentable to the outside world. But, you know, when I’m hungry, I want to eat everything. At least I want to taste everything. I can’t make a decision to save my life. I think: I should write a post! I should take a picture! But I’m too hungry to do that. Once I finish, I go directly back into the kitchen for another couple of olives, some fish oil, a sip of my roommate’s beer and a sip of his friend’s beer, half an orange, a little more babaganouj, a couple slices of radish, a few spoonfuls of coconut butter and a homemade chocolate sesame truffle. And a bite of chocolate.

I may go back for seconds. Or it it fifths?

What are some of your best Meal of Foods?

PS Just had a quick snack of smoked bluefish and a few dehydrated zucchini chips. Now drinking my nightly cup of Good Earth tea. Satisfied at last.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    December 1, 2009 9:30 pm

    You need to warn me before unleashing terminology like “meal of foods,” lest I pass out at my desk! God forgive you, indeed. But otherwise, lovely, my dearest. Just don’t start a trend of people saying her favorite little clever things, ok?

    • Margie permalink*
      December 1, 2009 9:37 pm

      I knew I was tempting fate (or you) at little bit, but it’s just so appropriate. You understand? And now good people reading this blog (the three of you!), do not start using Meal of Foods outside this forum.

  2. December 2, 2009 6:41 pm

    sounds like one of my dinners….right! one thing i never worried about, how my food looked. random eating is something i have worked hard at, and believe i am quite good. see the result. “meal of foods”, i like that. it is familiar and comfortable.

  3. David Osorio permalink
    December 3, 2009 12:02 am

    I never have enough food in my house to make a “meal of foods”. It’s more of a color by numbers situation where first I find something that will pass for my protein. 4 eggs? sure, maybe some unseasoned ground beef? ok. then I get some sort of carbohydrate, an apple? some blueberries? Steamed broccoli? okay.. then, ill steal some of Mike’s cashews and call it a day.

    If I ever had a food blog it would bore people to tears.

  4. Abby permalink
    December 3, 2009 3:32 pm

    Ugh, seriously, now everyone’s using “meal of foods.” Stop, people! Please! Don’t let it catch on!

  5. Charlotte permalink
    December 3, 2009 8:49 pm

    My go-to emergency meal is usually the following: one avocado, cut in half, pit removed, with scoops of cottage cheese in the holes left from the pit. (Big scoops, bigger than the holes.) Drizzle with balsamic vinegar & olive oil, season with salt and pepper. Add an apple and that’s lunch. Or dinner.

Leave a Reply

