Skip to content

Primal Quest 2010

January 11, 2010

And so it begins…

Welcome to CrossFit South Brooklyn’s Primal Quest 2010. We have quite a few folks in on the Quest, so let’s plan to use each other as resources!

I want to thank you all for sharing your goals with me. You’ve given me plenty of topics to address over the next few weeks; stay tuned for posts on vegetable recipes, leaning out, and lots of other fun paleo topics/articles. My goal is to post 1-3 times a week, be available for one on one nutrition sessions and point you to the best sources of information/good food I can.

If you haven’t done so, I suggest getting in a big food shop straight away. Set yourself up right by stocking your house with canned wild caught fish, nuts, avocado, veggies and a nice big piece of meat that you can roast and eat on for the next couple of days. The key is to arm yourself so that you don’t find yourself in a situation where you’re at the mercy of your environment.

Has everyone taken their before photos? Get that done before Wed.

We now have a google group courtesy of Sarah Haskins. The link is posted under Current Obsessions. Register as a member and feel free to start discussions.

And now for a little inspiration…

Breakfast!

Two Grazin’ Angus Acres fried eggs topped with leftover tomato onion sauce, leftover grass-fed roast beef from Bierkraft, slices of watermelon radish and raw Kimchee from Hawthorne Valley Farm.

What did you eat this morning?

Oh and by the way, according the NY Times, we are total hipsters.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 10:24 am

    london broil, 2 eggs, green tea, and half a banana

  2. David Osorio permalink
    January 11, 2010 10:35 am

    3 baked Chicken thighs, some steamed broccoli. I’m still a little hungry but don’t have anything that i can munch on like berries or nuts so I’ll make a trip to the coop today.

    I’ve decided to keep Dairy in my diet, I’ve went through long stretches of not consuming the stuff and find no real difference when im on it. Also, i could use the extra Kcals

  3. Charlotte permalink
    January 11, 2010 11:07 am

    2 hard boiled eggs, 1/2 cup homemade wholefat yogurt, 1 cup thawed berries, coffee with cream. Like David I’m keeping the dairy but I’m going to limit it to occasional yogurt, and cream in my 1 cup of coffee a day (one of my goals, down from 2-3). No cheese or milk.

  4. Voigt permalink
    January 11, 2010 11:49 am

    5 eggs over easy, 2 clemintimes, and 1/4lbs. of chicken brest in a lemon sauce. My mind was so programed on toast that it some how ended up on the counter with the butter right next to it. Also I used ketchup unsure if thats cheating or not (because of the vinagar), but \I doubt I can give up that delicious condement. I think it goes without saying that I will be enjoying a nice half gallon of milk later on in the day. I will say this though, I am swearing off all other forms of dairy.

  5. Bethany permalink
    January 11, 2010 12:25 pm

    Breakfast: Apple omlette (sliced up 1/2 of an apple, fried the slices in coconut oil, sprinkled on cinnamon and poured in two eggs) + Tbsp or so of almond butter.

    Lunch will be 1/2 of leftover grassfed strip steak, roasted butternut squash, kale salad, and nuts.

  6. Fox permalink
    January 11, 2010 1:20 pm

    Breakfast – 3 hard-boiled eggs, about 2 oz of leftover hangar steak, small handful of walnuts and almonds, 1/2 pear. and 2 fish oil caps, all washed down with black coffee. I can’t imagine 4:30 am without a cuppa joe.

  7. Jess permalink
    January 11, 2010 1:47 pm

    Breakfast: 2 hard-boiled eggs, 1/2 small apple, nuts, black coffee.
    Snack: 1/2 (~2oz.) pork chop, 1/2 small apple
    Upcoming Lunch: 1 cup of homemade beef chili (no beans) over a salad, with some more nuts.

  8. Bjorn permalink
    January 11, 2010 4:35 pm

    Bfast: scrambled eggs and some almonds
    lunch: rotisserie chicken from whole foods

    lunch was tougher than expected as I thought whole foods would have plenty of options, but most of their prepared veggies had cheese or breadcrumbs or cornstarch. More preparation necessary.

    I usually eat/drink tons of dairy products (my grandfather had a dairy business, so it runs in the family I guess), so I’m going to try and go without for this challenge and see what happens.

  9. Shawn permalink
    January 11, 2010 5:40 pm

    I missed Saturday cause I had to coach our basketball team, so I’ll do my best to keep up with you guys.

    This morning I had 2 handfuls of almonds. Its tough for me to get up early enough to cook anything since I have to be at work by 7. I usually save cooking breakfast for weekends.

    For lunch I had Spinach and and leftover chicken sausage and onions.

    Unfortunately I ate a slice of Pizza since my school bought a bunch of pizza for staff. bah

  10. Voigt permalink
    January 11, 2010 5:44 pm

    Lunch: can of tuna, tomatoe soup, and some macadamian nuts. It was much harder to come up with a “lunch” I soon relized that my apartment is full seriously like more than 85% with grains. I need to go shoping.

  11. Tam permalink
    January 11, 2010 6:45 pm

    breakfast: 2 eggs fried in coconut oil, spinach
    lunch: grilled chicken breast mixed greens

    2 strawberries and some melon, coconut, pecans & walnuts for a snack

    I was in a meeting all day and did not plan well and so I’M STARVING. On to dinner pronto.

  12. January 11, 2010 7:51 pm

    Can someone please tell me what the ground rules are? I can only start on Feb 2nd but I”ll try and do it for the same length of time as you guys. And of course, I’ll try to stick as close to it as possible while I’m Down Under.

    Or is this just paleo?

  13. Margie permalink*
    January 11, 2010 8:05 pm

    Samir, I’ll email you the Rules of Engagement

  14. DMG permalink
    January 11, 2010 9:57 pm

    breakfast – 2 hard boiled eggs, banana, nuts, seltzer. not enough. increasing egg count.
    lunch – tin of salmon, nuts. not enough.
    dinner – mashed sweet potatoes, brussel sprouts, 3 chicken thighs baked. grapefruit. good.

    liese’s sharing this trip too.

  15. Julie permalink
    January 12, 2010 7:15 am

    Breakfast- black tea and 2 hard-boiled eggs.
    The only dairy I’m planning to have is milk in my tea and coffee.
    Overhauled my cabinets and did 2 rounds of grocery shopping. Purchased meat other than chicken or turkey for the first time possibly ever.

  16. Voigt permalink
    January 12, 2010 11:45 am

    Day 2 B-fast 1/2 ham steak, 1 pumello, 5 fried eggs

  17. Shawn permalink
    January 12, 2010 2:34 pm

    Day 2: More almonds/Some Sliced Chicken breast

    Lunch Chicken Breast and Lettuce.

    Margie can you email me the Rules of Engagement too?

    Thanks

    Shawn

Leave a Reply

